The Queensland Literary Awards celebrate and promote outstanding Australian books and authors. State Library of Queensland proudly manages the Queensland Literary Awards in collaboration with sponsors, industry partners and the writing community.

The QLA aims to:

  • raise the profile of Queensland writers and outstanding books by Australian authors
  • build connections with readers, the literary community and supporters
  • attract investment in writers through cash prizes, Fellowships and paid professional development

Media Releases

Read all the latest news, updates and information for the media about the Queensland Literary Awards.

History of the Literary Awards in Queensland

The Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards were established by Peter Beattie as the Premier of Queensland in 1999. For thirteen years the awards honoured exceptional literary talent and helped launch the careers of new Australian writers. The Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards ended in 2012 and the Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) were established by a not-for-profit association of passionate Queensland volunteers and advocates for literature.

Overseen by the QLA Inc. committee consisting of; Chair Dr Stuart Glover, Treasurer Brian Tucker, Secretary Megan Reeder Hope, and committee members Alex Adsett, Greg Bain, Matthew Condon, Susan Johnson, Jason McKenzie, Krissy Kneen, Elizabeth Reynolds, and Manager Claire Booth, the 2012 and 2013 QLAs were made possible by the generosity and commitment of many partners, donors and volunteers.

Through positive community action, the QLAs developed a highly visible national profile, receiving extensive media coverage and positive community acceptance in Queensland and throughout Australia.

Following consultation with the QLA committee in 2014, the management of the QLA transitioned to the State Library of Queensland.

In 2015, Premier and Arts Minister Annastacia Palaszczuk announced the Queensland Government would once again provide support for the awards through Arts Queensland.

The State Library established the QLA Reference Group to provide expert advice on the governance of the awards. Representatives include organisations and stakeholders, including former QLA Inc. committee members.

The State Library continues to proudly manage the Queensland Literary Awards in collaboration with industry partners and the writing community and gratefully acknowledges prize sponsors The University of Queensland, Griffith University, the University of Southern Queensland, QUT, Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, The Courier-Mail and Jenny Summerson, along with supporters the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland, Queensland Writers Centre, and UQP.