Winners and finalists

Congratulations to the winners and finalists of the 2016 Awards.

2016 winners

The Queensland Literary Awards ceremony was hosted by the State Library of Queensland on 5 October.

Queensland Premier's Award for a work of State Significance

Not Just Black and White, Lesley and Tammy Williams
Prize: $25,000

Queensland Premier's Young Publishers and Writers Awards

Emily Craven
Michelle Law
Prize: $10,000 each

Queensland Writers Fellowships

Trent Jamieson
Pamela Rushby
Amanda O’Callaghan
Prize: $15,000 each

Unpublished Indigenous Writer – David Unaipon Award

Dancing Home, Paul Collis
Prize: $10,000

Emerging Queensland Writer – Manuscript Award

No winner, two Encouragement Awards given
Encouragement Award: The Boatman, H.E. Crampton
Encouragement Award: The Elements, Laura Elvery

The University of Queensland Non-Fiction Book Award

Small Acts of Disappearance: Essays on Hunger, Fiona Wright
Prize: $10,000

The University of Queensland Fiction Book Award

Between a Wolf and a Dog, Georgia Blain
Prize: $10,000

Griffith University Children’s Book Award

KidGlovz, Julie Hunt (author) and Dale Newman (illustrator)
Prize: $10,000

Griffith University Young Adult Book Award

Dreaming the Enemy, David Metzenthen
Prize: $10,000

State Library of Queensland Poetry Collection – Judith Wright Calanthe Award

Anatomy of Voice, David Musgrave
Prize: $10,000

University of Southern Queensland Australian Short Story Collection – Steele Rudd Award

A Few Days in the Country and other stories, Elizabeth Harrower
The High Places, Fiona McFarlane
Prize: co-winners awarded $5,000 each

University of Southern Queensland History Book Award

The Pearl Frontier: Indonesian Labour and Indigenous Encounters in Australia’s Northern Trading Network, Julia Martínez and Adrian Vickers
Prize: $10,000

The Courier Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year Award

Winner: Swimming Home, Mary-Rose MacColl
Prize: $10,000

Past winners

View the previous winners of the Queensland Literary Awards.

2015 winners

In 2015, winners including Libby Connors and John Ahern were announced across eleven Award categories plus The Courier-Mail People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year and the Queensland Writers Fellowships.

2014 winners

Winners across the ten Queensland Literary Award categories offered in the year 2014 included Richard Flanagan, David Malouf and Kellee Slater.

2013 winners

Eleven authors won awards across this year's Queensland Literary Award categories offered in the year 2013 included Kate Moreton, Kristina Olsson and Ellen van Neerven.

2012 winners

Fourteen authors, including Frank Moorhouse, George Megalogenis and Janette Turner Hospital, were winners of Queensland Literary Awards in the awards' inaugural year.